CMT has named their five 2019 Artists of the Year. Carrie Underwood, Dan + Shay, Kane Brown, Luke Combs and Thomas Rhett will all be celebrated during a television special in mid-October.

CMT's Artists of the Year honor goes to acts "who have collectively ruled the last 12 months in country music," according to the TV network. The 2019 Artists of the Year TV special will feature speeches from the honorees, tribute performances and special collaborations.

"These five, stand-out honorees have dominated country music this year, and we look forward to paying tribute to each of them at the 10th-year anniversary CMT Artists of the Year event,” says Leslie Fram, CMT’s senior vice president of music strategy and talent. “This incredible collection of talent coming together at what marks a pivotal time in each of their careers promises to be a night of incredible performances and reflection."

Underwood -- who released her newest album, Cry Pretty, in September of 2018, is a five-time CMT Artists of the Year honoree; Rhett, who has been on top of his game during his 2019 Very Hot Summer Tour, is a two-time honoree. Brown, Combs and Dan + Shay are all first-time honorees, but they've been major players in country music as of late. Brown has earned praise for his 2018 sophomore album, while Dan + Shay have raked in awards nominations thanks to their self-titled third studio album, and Combs continues to rule with No. 1 songs and an eagerly anticipated sophomore album due out before the year's end.

The 2019 CMT Artists of the Year ceremony will take place on Oct. 16 and be broadcast live at 8PM ET on CMT. The event is held in Nashville, at the Schermerhorn Symphony Center.

Top 10 Country + Americana Albums of 2019 (So Far)

More From Big Cat - Country with Attitude